Home > Good, Tasting Notes and Wine Reviews > The earthy and mature 2010 Fontefico, Montepulciano D’Abruzzo

The earthy and mature 2010 Fontefico, Montepulciano D’Abruzzo


When I recently asked Tim for some recommendations, he quickly pointed out the 2010 Fontefico, Montepulciano d’Abruzzo.  Fontefico is a relatively young winery started by Nicola and Emanuele Altieri on an old estate located along the coast in Abruzzo.  A handful of wines are produced, all from individual vineyards located only a few hundred meters from the sea.  I do not drink much  Montepulciano D’Abruzzo so I was pleased by the open nature of this bottle.  More importantly, I enjoyed the sense of maturity from the earth and leather notes in the wine.  You could probably hold on to this for a few years but I see no reason to.  Just drink it up! This wine is available at MacArthur Beverages.

Fontefico1

2010 Fontefico, Montepulciano d’Abruzzo – $18
Imported by Grappoli Imports.  This wine is 100% Montepulciano D’Abruzzo that was aged in a combination of stainless steel and oak.  Alcohol 14%.  The earthy flavors mix with herbs then greenhouse notes.  The rounded wine is mouthfilling but not weighty, leaving ripe tannins on the gums.  With air the wine becomes a little tangy.  There is also a sense of maturity that is highlighted by the leather notes.  *** Now.

Fontefico2

  1. Jason Carey
    March 3, 2016 at 12:56 pm

    SOUNDS great.

    • March 3, 2016 at 4:08 pm

      I enjoyed it. Too bad the Teso Rufete was not a good experience for you. I’ve only had the one bottle.

  2. Jason Carey DWS
    March 18, 2016 at 4:04 pm

    So I bought a bottle of this wine after reading your post, and opened it the other night. I really really like it. It reminds me at least on the first day of a 1990s or 80s Southern French Carignan, with its rustic tannins and an Older Petit Sirah. But then it has wonderful black cherry buried underneath, and tar and orange peel. This wine is rustic in what I consider to be a great way, and its big but not over ripe or extracted, in this case it seems purely like the terroir that makes this wine the way it was.. I like it cause its a bigger wine that I like. My girlfriend and I tend to like different styles.. this is one that is big for her, but earthy and unique for me.. Thanks..

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

