Home > History of Wine, Image > “From Night till Morn I take my Glass”: A late 18th century ballard involving wine

“From Night till Morn I take my Glass”: A late 18th century ballard involving wine


From Night till Morn I take my Glass. 1792. [1]

From Night till Morn I take my Glass. 1792. [1]

“From Night till Morn I take my Glass” is a ballad about a man who drinks a lot of wine in lament of a woman named Chloe.  The ballad was written in the very late 18th century, most likely in the 1790s.  The ballad appeared in the above image during 1792 and apparently set to music for the Band of the Coldstream Guards by Samuel Arnold as late as 1794.  Judging by the number of songster books published it subsequently became very popular during the early 19th century.  Even George Cruikshank illustrated an edition containing the ballad.  As for the ballad itself, we learn that no matter how much wine the gentleman consumes, he cannot forget his Chloe.

From Night Till Morn I Take My Glass. A Favorite Duett. Mr. Shield. [2]

From Night Till Morn I Take My Glass. A Favorite Duett. Mr. Shield. [2]

From Night ’till Morn I take my glass,
In hopes to forget my Chloe:
But tho’ I take the pleasing Draught,
She’s ne’er the less before me;
Ah no, no, no, Wine cannot cure
The Pain I endure for my chloe,
To Wine I flew to ease the pain,
Her beateous Charms created,
But Wine more firmly bound the Chain,
And Love would not be cheated,
Ah no, no, no, Wine cannot cure
The Pain I endure for my Chloe.


[1] From Night till Morn I take my Glass. 1792. The British Museum.
[2] From Night Till Morn I Take My Glass. A Favorite Duett.  Mr. Shield (Composer). Johns Hopkins University, Levy Sheet Music Collection, Box 098, Item 082. URL: http://jhir.library.jhu.edu/handle/1774.2/26005

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

