Home > Fair, ModGood, Tasting Notes and Wine Reviews > Drinking two wines from Milagro Vineyards in New Mexico

Drinking two wines from Milagro Vineyards in New Mexico


It was only a couple years ago that I started trying local wines during my visits to New Mexico.  In my limited experience I have found the wines of Milagro Vineyards to be savory and weighty.  The 2009 Milagro Vineyards, Cabernet Sauvignon is decisively weighty with bell pepper, green house notes, and vintage perfume.  It has surprising heft for the relatively low alcohol level.  It is not my style of wine but does remind me of some younger wines from Virginia and I have no doubt there are plenty of fans.  The 2010 Milagro Vineyards, Syrah offered cleaner fruit, tartness, and a hint of minerals.  I still think that Syrah is a strong variety for New Mexico and if you have never had a wine from this state, you cannot go wrong with this one. These wines were purchased at Jubilation Wine & Spirit in Albuquerque.

Milagro1

2009 Milagro Vineyards, Cabernet Sauvignon – $25
This wine is Cabernet Sauvignon that was aged for 21 months in French oak.  Alcohol 12.3%.  The color was an older looking light to medium garnet.  The nose revealed fresh, moist bell pepper aromas.  In the mouth was a rounded start to the weighty, black fruit.  There were ripe, almost chewy tannins that were in balance.  The wine finished with vintage perfume, green house notes, and a sweet fruit aftertaste.  Becomes more weighty and savory with air.  * Now.

Milagro2

2010 Milagro Vineyards, Syrah – $28
This wine is Syrah that was aged for 21 months in French oak. Alcohol 13.9%.  This was the most weighty and rounded of the two with savory, clean fruit.  There was a hint of racy black fruit, a little greenhouse note, and a generally clean nature.  There were tart red fruit hints at the back sides of the tongue and a hint of hard minerals.  ** Now-2016.

Milagro3

  1. jason carey
    December 30, 2014 at 12:24 pm

    I went there on reccomendation of a guy who owns a good restaurant there. I liked the wines in the tasting room.. but when I got them home I found the winemaking heavy handed and in the whites especially the oak overwhelemed the fruit. The owner told me that Doug Nalle from Nalle in Dry Creek ( who’s wines I love) gives him some advice, but the wines don’t really have the elegance. that being said. I do think they are okay.. but not sure I would buy again.

    • December 31, 2014 at 1:41 pm

      Jason, thank you for commenting. I agree, the wines I have tasted are not really elegant, quite forceful actually. That’s why I liked the Syrah, it seemed to show through the winemaking more. I would not buy them again but then I live near DC where there is tremendous competition in that price range.

  2. jason carey
    January 4, 2015 at 9:55 am

    yes I live in DC too. We were visiting my Wife’s parents there. I didn’t try the syrah..

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

